“Tattoos are like wearing your heart on your skin in this life.”
― Sylvia Plath

I’ve always been curious about getting a tattoo. I still remember when I used to request one of my friend- Aditi (her art is just wow) to draw different beautiful shapes on my forearm. I, then flaunt that with an attitude on my face. I still have that photograph saved with me! Many a time I myself used to draw the letter of someone’s first name below the edge of my palm and kept hiding it from others. Hahahaha the stupid childhood things!

This fairy angel is drawn by my one beloved friend Aditi during a lazy office day 😀

Getting a tattoo is a big decision. Whenever I see people wearing a tattoo— I wonder why they got it. To put something on your body permanently, enduring what I imagine must be quite a bit of pain, and often paying a lot of money, takes a level of passion and dedication that I find fascinating. I always want to ask, What motivated them to have such big tattoos?

So, after aspiring for so long to get one, today, I finally tattooed. Putting in some courage, I finally booked an appointment with one of the Tattoo Artists in Dehradun who recently opened up her studio in my area with the name RB Tattoo Studio. The location is Nehru Colony, Dehradun- hardly 500 meters from my home. The tattoo artist- Bharti did exemplary work! Her studio has all the masterpieces that she herself drew- some on the walls, some as paintings/portraits etc.

Also Read My Keratin Hair Treatment Review done a year back!

I loved the way she helped me with what I was looking for and customized my tattoo as per my requirements & expectations. Maintaining all the hygiene & precautions, she started working on my tattoo. Printed out the tattoo image, customized it with her skills, stenciled the final one, and engraved it whole on my forearm. As she started inking it, she cleared my all queries about spotting a cheap vs quality tattoo, living up with a tattoo, and tips to maintain it lifelong.

Life is a virtue, so is pain!

There were some fun moments too when she complimented my looks and told me that I resemble to one of the popular youtube vloggers with a channel name ‘Flying Beast’ and I laughed out loud as this I have been hearing out from so many people in my circle.

My tattoo that reads ‘Anuugacchatu Pravaha’ is a Sanskrit word meaning- Go with the flow. My tattoo is small, but its meaning is huge. I have chosen this for two reasons- One being to keep me motivated in all my odds and another to celebrate & preserve the moment of my motherhood given by my daughter ‘Anushi’. Yes, her first three letters are on my forearm now with a heart surrounding them. My tattoo will keep on reminding me of the struggle I went through during my pregnancy and the victory I achieved with her birth. This tattoo will always serves as a reminder that I cannot be broken. The longer I see my tattoo, the more I fall in love with it. Well, that’s my tattoo story!

She is the one ❤

At the end, I just wana say that-

If you’re nervous about getting a tattoo, remember that it’s just another way of expressing yourself. Don’t let fear hold you back.