So, we did it!! Completed 1 year successful together! There have been high highs and low lows, and here we are – a year of marriage in the books.

February 23rd was our 1st wedding anniversary. We have been married for one year. Time really flies. I can remember those moments- shopping at Paltan Bazaar, looking out for wedding venues around the city.. like it was literally yesterday.

Everyone wanted to let me know that marriage is really hard and that we would be more in love as the years went on than we were right then. Its high time I must admit that this year I learned they were correct.

Marriage is indeed hard. Just like anything worthwhile in life. For us, 2019 was more of a roller coaster ride. This year we have seen each other’s flaws and imperfections and know each other better for it. Even after knowing him for 7 years, there were so many shades to his character (and vice-versa) I had yet to discover. Now that we had started living together, we are getting familiar with each shade of ours. We disagree often. We fight, infact most of the time. We are both very stubborn and dislike admitting when we are wrong.

I found him at his best in our bad times and sometimes not even saying a bit supporting me when it was most required. There were days we have fought (okay, I fought and he stayed silent) but for now its impossible to imagine my life without him.

f736984f-075f-402f-8314-c15c0016a919

What’s Special for the Day ?

Wedding anniversaries are really special to every couple. But the first one? It comes only once and it happens to be much more special than the 2nd. 3rd and so on. At least that is what I imagined.

But as you say life walks opposite to what you have imagined…Hahahaha..The day went like other days- Normal… breakfast, lunch, an afternoon sleep and then hurrying up for what should I wear for the day?

Recalling that day, I remember of taunting my husband Alok the entire day for not gifting me anything on our Anniversary- “Atleast he should have brought me a dress to wear for the day!” –went on running in my mind since the morning!

Putting my thoughts aside, I then decided to wear a Silk Sari brought by my sister to which Alok reverted me back saying- “I would not accompany you if you wear a Saree!”

What?? Are you serious?? He don’t want to hold the hand of a women dressed in a typical Indian wear like saree LOL.. And you’ll not believe his next step. He took me to Gaur city mall right near to our society. We explored the whole shops yet could not find a one that could go well for the occasion. We have to return home barehanded and I got an opportunity to wear that Saree teaming up with my pair of Ponchhe- a popular Garhwali traditional gold jewellery!

IMG-1321
3 of us wearing the same saree variants

Celebrations @Absolute Barbecues Noida 62

We kept the celebrations limited-joined by just family members & some friends. My in-laws arrived from Kotdwara. For the first time my parents visited my home (They live in Dehradun) to attend our anniversary. We made a booking for total of 22 guests at Absolute Barbecues at Noida sector 62. Yes, this was the same place I was invited as a food blogger for their Outlet Launch ceremony few days before our Anniversary!

I am literally in love with this place since my first visit. That impeccable ambiance, large menu options, excellent food & service and of course discounts to their loyal customers (perks of being a Food Blogger) is what made me choose them. Celebrations @AB’s with a complimentary cake from their side is what they do for every guest attending them for celebrating their special occasion.

ABs team has booked an entire vertical column to accommodate our 22 guests. The section was decorated with balloons and an Anniversary hoarding.

IMG-1337
waiting for other guests..

Menu

Well, that’s my favourite part I love explaining… Here is the complete menu for the eve-

Starters

Starters were more of a regular veg & non-veg delicacies like chicken, prawns, pineapple, melon, Paneer, fish etc. In starters, the grilled Pineapple with cinnamon and honey, creamy potato Cajun and Crispy Corn were my favourites.

We also had option to enjoy savoury items like Chaat, Tikki, Gol Gappas, Pastas & Pizzas on their live pasta/pizza counters.

IMG_0923

Main Course- Buffet

They had a big buffet for main course that has a paneer masala, mix veg, mutton rogan josh, chilli chicken gravy, prawn curry, assorted breads, veg/chicken biryani and other side dishes. In love with their chicken biryani and mutton Rogan josh.

IMG-1527

Dessert

They do have a live counter for Jalebees. These kesar infused Jalebees will surely activate your sweet tooth. The little Gulaab Jamuns and hot Gajar halwa and live ice-cream counter is a must try. You have a choice of toppings and sauces on your ice-cream. A separate glassed refrigerator had a variety of desserts placed from Rabdi, cakes, fruit custards to much more.

IMG_0956

Time to Cut the Cake

The cake was from AB’s side. I could not express the moment when the whole staff of AB’s clubbed together cheering and clapping for us with the background music in play “Janam Janam jo sath nibhaye….” Every ones eyes were on us!

IMG-1424

IMG-1365

IMG-1371

It was a Memorable Day Indeed!

The day ended up to be one of the most memorable days. . but I’m looking forward to the years ahead filled with smile, happy memories, good times and learning we have lying ahead of us.

IMG-1535

A happy marriage is like a long conversation that always seems to be short. I wish our conversations never end!

Liked this writeup by me? Let me know leaving the comments below!