Dear Home,

I see your photographs over my device screen almost daily. It comforts me so much watching you from different angles, zooming every aspect of you. I feel the urge to stare at you a little longer every time and I can’t help myself. You’re beautiful.. exactly the way I dream of.  Most of my friends say “You’re lucky to have a place like this to call Home and come back to.”  Come back to…? Well, I couldn’t agree to this more.

I left you in search of my own House and I am still wandering around to find one.

As I write to you today, far away from your warm embrace, things are different here, I repeat very different and so am I. I am getting to see the sides of me I never knew I had. I am a whole being here, different, living off like a new page with a different colored ink to write with, all over again.

Today, as I write to you, dear Home, I want you to know that I miss you badly, I miss the comfort you gave me all these years.

Today, I’ve had no choice but to keep missing you. I am blessed to have you, a place to call Home and a place to go back to; but Not to stay.

Love always,

Rashmi

IMG-4691
My sweet home

It’s been 550 Days since I left my home after marriage. Wondering how I could be so accurate with the numbers? Hahahaha… Well, that’s among one of the few things that keep hitting hard in my mind.

Especially for a woman, getting married and leaving her family, to go and live into another house, is a very big change, something that every girl secretly dreads.

Sometimes I feel, I have been kicked out of my home for being a girl. I feel that! But then this is life and every girl has to go through this man-made rule.

I remember when we were moved to our own house in Dehradun, Uttarakhand in the year 2008. I was young and couldn’t wait to grow up, live alone, own my things and do whatever it is that I want. As humans, we do not tend to respect, value and appreciate the things we already have and take them for granted.

IMG-1134
it always feel good to see this board.

“The magic thing about home is that it feels good to leave, and it feels even better to come back.”

I am the eldest daughter of my parents and because my both young siblings were out for study & then job, I have to stay with my parents. I have never been away from home even for a single day.  So, homesickness is something I never came across before.

But today after being married for a year, I am getting the true meaning of what homesickness feels like.

As I sit here inside of my 3BHK apartment in Palm Olympia society of Gaur City, Noida tonight…typing this up…my mind still wanders off to my place, my cozy room and the veggie garden. I can see every nook and cranny as if I were there.

IMG-8814
Miss my photography sessions at my home

Nothing can fill the void of missing home, family & friends. No matter how long you have stayed away from home, you’re always willing to go back home and stay with your family. For me, my home is a peaceful place where I can rest, eat well and rejuvenate myself retaining all the lost energy.

I’ve made peace with my newer home in Noida too and no longer “blame” it for my unhappiness ..Yet I believe that with all my heart.. my life could only connect to a place I spent my childhood, my teenage and it will truly remain a huge “part” of my life forever.

It hurts to admit that I reluctantly bid goodbye to my hometown & my sweet home in Dehradun. But you know what? If the goodbyes were easy, that would mean we weren’t happy. So I’m glad this goodbye stings.

Today, when I am here…I keep telling myself that life is a journey, not a destination. Change is good. But sometimes that advice just feels like words and I cry my heart out laying down on my bed locking up my room.

I had no choice but to move forward anyway. Looking back, those (2007-2019) were some of the best years of my life. I never learned so much about myself and what I was capable of doing. That city gave me a lot of things- from my home to my career and, also the man I fell in love with.

I miss my house. I miss my friends. I miss my daily routine. I miss my life being a proud doonite.

Photo1283
The first look back in 2008-2018.. reminds me of our teenage days
IMG-6176
Back during my marriage..every color being chosen by me
IMG-4690
renovated now
IMG-4688
side view of my sweet abode
IMG-1146
Kanti Niwas ❤
DSC_2700
My Family

For quite some time, I was desperately looking to pen down my feelings being away from my home..Finally done publishing! Liked reading it? Don’t forget to like & comment.