Life isn’t perfect but your hairs can be

Everyone aspires for great hair so am I. I was really annoyed with my frizzy and unmanageable hairs and secretly wanting smooth, straight and frizz-free hair that could look perfect in almost every style- whether tied up to a ponytail or leave as such without even combing.

Hair Rebonding & Hair Smoothening are some most viral terms of the decade, the treatment being very popular among so many girls/women looking for that perfectly sharp & erect hair strands. From the past few years, I have been hearing about the keratin treatment that could really kind of like relaxing your hair, keeping your frizz at bay and also making it like easier to style.

Well, finally I gave this treatment a try to my recent visit to my beautiful city Dehradun. Out of many popular salons in the city- Cloud 9, Geetanjali, VLCC, Azaad, U2, Squire Touch, Hair Texture etc, I chose the one I have been coming for all my hair cuts so far (before marriage obviously), just near to my home- B.Care Professional Unisex Salon (Located at Nehru Colony near LIC).

Why Keratin?

I wanted a dramatic change to my hair looks but do not want to go for an intense chemical treatment like that in Smoothening/Rebonding, so I chose Keratin one. The treatment costs anywhere from 2500 to 6000 depending on the hair length and the product used. The process promises straight hair with minimal maintenance. All it involves is a solution being applied to twice-washed hair, which is then heat-sealed with a flat iron.

I had a lot of questions before I could start with the treatment. Luckily, the hair stylist at B.Care salon, Sameer has patiently answered each one of them and helped me out selecting the best for my hair type. As he told- “Our hair is made up of keratin- a type of protein, so this treatment is feeding hair with a lot of proteins, which is often lost due to age and other chemical services.”

Regarding the process, he continues, “We will first treat your hairs with a Hair taming solution of brand GK, followed by the post 48 hours hair wash, a trending hair cut and then Loreal Hair spa- all included with the package.

So, Let’s get started—

Here’s the Complete Keratin Treatment Process I Undergone

The initial Day 1 treatment lasts for approximately three hours and consist of the following steps.

Initial Treatment- Day 1

#1 Shampooing Your Hairs Twice

The process begins with an Intense Hair wash twice using a mild Keratin Shampoo to completely strip away any dirt, oil, color from your hairs.

#2 Blow Dry

Next, my hair was blown dry (the stylist used an assistant to speed the process up and in no time she got too friendly to discuss about her family- her in-laws, her children.)

#3 Keratin Solution Applied

After my hair was 80 percent dried, the stylist sectioned my hair into various parts and began applying the treatment solution itself — the product was from brand GK- image attached here.

#4 Hairs Sealed & Left to Set

After applying the mixture onto my entire head, the stylist sealed it with a foil and left to sit for 15-20 minutes.

#5 Blow Dry & Flat-Iron Treatment

Afterwards, he used a flat iron to flatten my curls. Starting at the nape of the neck, he took sections about 2-3 inches wide and ironed them several times Then each section of hair is blow dried to fall straight and flat ironed until heat is passed on it 5-6 times. This makes the hair pin straight. The flat-ironing resulted in big puffs of white steam with the residue of product all over. This process has to be done with great care and they strictly made me to wear a mask and close my eyes so as to prevent those fumes entering inside and start irritating.

The process completed for Day 1.

Post-treatment- Day 3

After the initial treatment, I was asked to avoid water for atleast 48 hours. This should be maintained and no water, sweat or any moisture should fall on your hairs. You will also be prevented from using hair clips, pins and rubber bands on the hair. They called me up for follow up after 48 hours and repeated the process of-

#6 Blow Dry & Flat Ironing

Before washing, they blow dried and ironed my hairs once again to ensure each hair strand absorb the keratin to fullest.

#7 Hair Wash

Afterwards, I was given a hair wash that washes all the chemical off from your hairs leaving it light, silky and soft.

#8 Hair Spa

After washing off all chemicals out of my hairs, they gave me soothing hair spa. The spa was of Loreal brand and they have mixed up some anti-dandruff serums too. The process involved- The solution application followed by a medium pressure head and shoulder massage and then steaming.

#9 Hair Cut (complimentary)

After washing off the hair spa cream, they gave me free hair cut session too. Now I can see my Keratin treated hair.

#10 Last Round of Blow Dry

Hairs were again blow dried and ironed to perfectly straight. I’ve come to witnessing a miracle now!

What to Expect After Hair Keratin Treatment ?

Positives

  1. More manageable & Glossy hair
    Smooth, shiny & manageable hair with no frizz. After the treatment and first wash, my hair feels silky and smooth. There is absolutely no frizz in my hair even if you leave them uncombed.

2. Long-lasting results
As long as you care for a keratin treatment by not washing your hair too frequently (2 to 3 times a week is enough), then your keratin treatment can last up to 6 months as told by the stylist.

3. It gives a Natural look
Keratin is a smoothing treatment, not a straightening treatment. It just made me frizz free and have a wavyish hair. Even when my hair starts growing, it will just blend in with the waves and not look unnatural.

4. Eliminates the application of harsh chemicals
Unlike smoothening and Rebonding, Keratin treatment use no harsh chemicals to break the chemical structure of your hair. Instead it smoothens it.

Negatives

  1. Quite a Lengthier Process
    As I mentioned, the treatment took a little over three hours from start to finish. The follow up session would also be lengthy (somewhere around 3 hours) as it involves Hair spa, Hair cut, wash and further blow dry & flat ironing.

2. Hair fall
More rounds of hair fall is expected after the treatment. Again, this may depend from person to person.

3. Costlier than Hair Smoothening/Rebonding
Though I have got this treatment on huge discounts at B.Care Salon, Dehradun, yet its a costlier treatment in most of the popular salons with the range starting from 5000 onwards. On the other hand, the hair smoothening would cost you anywhere between 5000 to 8000.

My Personal Experience with Keratin Treatment

Here is my before the treatment and after applying the keratin treatment images. The picture 1 is how my hairs looked earlier. Picture 2 is immediately after treatment and picture 3 is after the first wash. Picture 4 is the most accurate of how your hair will look.

I love how my hair looks and feels now. It takes me few seconds to do my hair now. I would definitely recommend this to all frizzy haired girls who are looking to have manageable hair. If you are at a phase in your life where you want to experiment, go for this. I swear, you’ll love it.

It has been 3 months from then, my hairs still feel great. Here is my present look (believe me I haven’t even combed :D)-

If you loved reading this article by me, please don’t forget to like and comment below. I would love to answer your query, if any.